Use of language...

Okay, so this post is not about make up, or at least not make up products, more make up-gurus.

I was watching a make up tutorial on YouTube just a few minutes ago. It was made by an Italian girl on Italian, at first I didn't notice the comments but one of top rated was about her not speaking English in her video.
For me this seems perfectly normal for more than one reasons.

1. Large parts of the Italian population don't speak English very well. If you come to the big tourist cities sure, they will know some English and some of them very well, but for the most parts Italians don't speak English.
2. When you upload videos to something like YouTube and it gets viewed you probably will face hate. If you're not completely comfortable with the language someone probably will comment that as well.
3. If you're not interested in international viewers then why put up with the hate according to reason number two?

There's probably alot more reasons and I very well know that everything isn't as black and white as I put it there but still, why is it so hard to understand why one want to talk one's mother language instead of a language one might not speak very well?!

Now for me it's a different thing, I see English as my second language and alot of times I find myself talking English even to myself (not saying my English is perfect because I know it's not). And since I'm only writing and not showing everything on camera it's alot harder to get everyone to understand (especially when I want to reach a larger group of people than only Swedes).

Which brings me on to another thing, how hard is it to watch a tutorial without sound (if it bothers you that it's not in English)?
I would understand if the person watching is new to putting on make up and actually want it spelled out, but as soon as you get into make up you can get things out of just watching. I wouldn't mind watching and arabic, greek, african video that's not in English as long as it's filmed so you get the purpose of what the person is doing.

I suppose this is enough ranting and I want to give somewhat a shoutout to two people who I follow that makes videos or blog post's in more than one language

http://www.youtube.com/user/MissChievous Swizz-Canadian girl who does most of her videos in English but some of them in German
http://www.23rdmarch.com/ Polish girl who writes in both English and Polish (which is good for me since I wouldn't understand shit otherwise)

Comments
Postat av: Evelina - equilina.se

Sv: Det är bara en hane, den ljusgrå. Fler bilder kommer inom kort =)

2012-03-15 @ 17:11:45
URL: http://equilina.se/
Postat av: Evelina - equilina.se

Sv: Ja precis =)

2012-03-16 @ 14:53:43
URL: http://equilina.se/

Designen är gjord gratis utav Designbloggar.com



Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (won't be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback