Review ELF Studio Cream Eyeshadow

First I like to say R.I.P shoes, at least I had you for three days and got to wear you once. When I got to the shop where I bought them they said that they were not allowed to sell them anymore 'cause a certain heel-falling-of-issue so I only got my money back. (note that I started writing this blogpost ages ago but haven't got it up until now, still I feel the urge to keep this sidenote about the death of my shoes)

Oh well, of to a new review about my loved package from ELF.
This time it's the new Studio Cream Eyeshadows that's on the menu.

I've never tried any of these before so didn't really have any expectations or anything, just thought it would be nice bases and wanted to try them out. It's a really great product and you can trust what they say about long-lasting. Wore one of them today with no primer and Tropical Teal on top and even now >12 hours later, no creasing or fading.

So I only tried two colours since I didn't know if I liked them or not and they were Teal Party and Purple Pleaser.


I really really really like these cream eyeshadows! They're pigmented but can easily be blended out or kept pigmented. They stay on and do not crease at all (as far as I've noticed). Usually I have a primer anyways so that can be why they don't crease but I've tried them without as well and haven't noticed any sewere creasing.
They work excellent as a base aswell even though they dry pretty quickly so I like to do one eye at a time when I use them as bases so the one eye I do last (usually the left one) don't dry before I get to it.

Swatch time!

(Purple Pleaser with flash)

(Purple Pleaser without flash)

Purple Pleaser is a very warm-toned purple with a hint of gold to it, not at all as blue as the pigment Passionate Purple. Don't really now how to put my thoughts into words but I find it quite convenient when in use as a base. That's a strange sentence but what I mean is that it doesn't have alot going on by it self and therefore won't interfere with the shadow used on top of it, it just makes them pop.


(Teal Party with flash)

(Teal Party without flash)

Teal Party also have alot of goldenish undertones, it's more like Tropical Teal (the pigment) as a cream shadow. For some reason I don't like to use this by it self as much as I like using Purple Pleaser on its own. I find it quite boring and, not really ugly, but something like that. What I'm trying to say is that it isn't really a good all-over-colour.


(from L-R with flash Teal Party, Purple Pleaser, Teal Party blended out, Purple Pleaser blended out)

(From L-R without flash Teal Party, Purple Pleaser, Teal Party blended out, Purple Pleaser blended out)

(From L-R with flash Teal Party w Tropical Teal, Purple Pleaser w Passionate Purple, the same but blended)

(From L-R without flash Teal Party w Tropical Teal, Purple Pleaser w Passionate Purple, the same but blended)

On the swatches you can see that Teal Party almost has no change in colour only more pigmented when Purple Pleaser on the other hand only makes the pigment pop with no change of colour, except for the blended version where the blueish tones of Passionate Purple doesn't show up, but on the other hand if you look at the dry swatches of Passionate Purple it has almost no blue showing up.

My overall opinion about the Cream Eyeshadows are that I like them, the statements on the ELF homepage are quite accurate even if I don't think they're pictures are to true (the teal is more blue and the purple more pink). They are easy to blend or keep pigmented and I do like them as bases. I will absolutely get more of the colours.

Comments
Postat av: Evelina - equilina.se

Sv: TACK så jättemycket för den fina kommentaren!!

2011-12-20 @ 11:11:58
URL: http://equilina.se

Designen är gjord gratis utav Designbloggar.com



Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (won't be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback